Halo 5: Guardians – Arena details released


Reaction score
More information has been revealed on the Arena portion of Halo 5: Guardians’ multiplayer experience.

The Arena is Halo 5’s purely competitive experience, which aims to celebrate the legacy of Halo multiplayer. The Arena allows players to go head-to-head in a game of skill where each player starts on a level playing field. Each player starts of with the same weapons and abilities and battles for possession of power weapons, power-ups by maintaining map control throughout the match.

In Arena, you won’t join a session that is already in progress. Players will join a match, from the start, meaning you won’t put your Competitive Skill Rating at risk.

The Competitive Skill Rating (CSR) system in Halo 5 is designed to ensure high quality matches between players of equal skill, on a per-play basis. When a player first drops in to an Arena playlist, they will play a series of placement matches before earning your CSR. After plying 10 games, you will be placed into one of seven CSR ranks based on your performance.

The ranks have been named in a way that progression through the ranks can be easily distinguished. The names for these ranks are Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, Onyx and Champion.

After earning your skill rank, the ONLY way to increase your rank is by winning. As you win, you will progress through the 6 tiers of your rank. If you reach the sixth tier of your rank, and carry on winning, you will move up to the next rank. Losing game will cause your progress within with in a rank to decrease. However, you will not drop down a whole rank from losing. (You won’t drop from from Silver to Bronze)


At the highest end of the ranking system you will find Onyx and Champion ranks. These ranks behave slightly different to the other ranks as Once you reach Onyx, you will be shown your raw CSR score. Winning will no longer increase your tier, it will increase your CSR score. This allows players to compare themselves with greater precision to other players within the Onyx rank. If you manage to establish yourself as one of the top 200 players in the Onyx rank, you will gain the highly coveted rank of Champion and be shown your place within the top 200.

For a full breakdown of what awaits in the Arena, visit Halo Waypoint’s full breakdown.

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.