Sony Details Playstation Trophy System Changes


Reaction score
Sony is changing up the PlayStation Trophy system which will begin rolling out today.

Changes to the PlayStation Trophy system are coming today, and one of the main takeaways is Sony will increase the Trophy level range from the current 1-100 to 1-999.


Following the update, you will find your Trophy level will automatically be remapped to a new level based on what you have currently earned.

An example offered was that if you are at Trophy level 12, your new level will jump to somewhere in the low 200s. The exact level will depend on the number and grades of trophies you’ve acquired.

Another big takeaway is the new level calculation structure, which is more “optimized and rewarding.” Here you will find the ability to progress more quickly through the early levels. Levels will also increase more consistently while Platinum trophies will count more toward your level progression.

New Trophy level icons have also been updated, and for PlayStation 5, as well as PlayStation App at a later date. Currently, the Trophies icon is just a single gold star, but Sony is adding a few variants:

  • Bronze: Levels 1 to 299
  • Silver: Levels 300 to 599
  • Gold: Levels 600 to 998
  • Platinum: Level 999
The icons will also have a “subtle distinction” which will provide a visual idea of how close you are to the next level.

Sony also clarified that all Trophies earned on previous PlayStation systems will come with you to PlayStation 5 as with other generational transitions.

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.